2016/17 Representative Season Wrap

 In News, Representatives

The 2016/17 Representative Season was another great one for Cairns Basketball!

None of this would have been achieved if it wasn’t for the efforts of all coaches, managers, officials and parents. Thank you!

Below is an overview of the 2016/17 representative season, see you all next season!

QNJBC Success

Cairns Basketball claimed 7 Gold and 3 Silver Medals, with all teams showing great improvement and promise prior to State Champs.

State Championship Success

Another consistent season with 5 out of our 7 division 1 sides finishing in the Top 6

This was highlighted by a GOLD medal for the U12 and U14 Marlins, SILVER medal for the U14 Dolphins and a BRONZE medal for the U18 Dolphins.

By finishing in the Top 3 at State Champs, the U14 Marlins and Dolphins have booked themselves a spot at the U14 Nationals which will be held in Melbourne later this year.

Vince Hickey Trophy

Cairns Basketball has won the 2017 Vince Hickey Trophy.

This award goes to the overall champion association based on State Championship results and it is the second consecutive year that Cairns has won the award.

State Selections

  • 14 Cairns players were selected for State Teams
  • 6 Cairns players were selected for Emerging State Teams
  • 8 Cairns players were selected for Basketball Queensland’s Future Development Program

National Selections

  • Kody Stattmann, Ryan Runnalls and Tamuri Wigness were selected and attended Basketball Australia’s Athlete Development Camp in Canberra
  • Tamuri Wigness has received a scholarship to attend the NBA Global Academy in Canberra

2016/17 Cairns Basketball Representative Award Winners

Most Improved Player

  • U12 Girls – Emily Stone
  • U12 Boys – Samuel Kalac
  • U14 Girls – Ebony Ross
  • U14 Boys – Kieran Jones
  • U16 Girls – Ebony Bland
  • U16 Boys – Marcus Pedro
  • U18 Girls – Summah Evans
  • U18 Boys – Riley Clarke

Player of the Year

  • U12 Girls – Teyahna Bond
  • U12 Boys – Tyson Crees
  • U14 Girls – Jasmine Fearne
  • U14 Boys – Reagan Crees
  • U16 Girls – Cassidy Warner
  • U16 Boys – Hayden Runnalls
  • U18 Girls – Rashada Kaigey
  • U18 Boys – Kody Stattmann

Referee of the Year

  • Riley Chapman

Coach of the Year

  • Boys Program – Darryll Stattmann & Brett Toombs
  • Girls Program – Amy Fearne
Recent Posts